The 12 Houses (Bhavas) and Their Meanings

The 12 Houses (Bhavas) and Their Meanings

Different aspects of life signified by each of the 12 Houses in the Horoscope.



Ruling Planet


1st Lagna Bhava Sun 1st house or so called Lagna is the most important of all the houses and determines the longevity, overall well-being, general tendencies, physical appearance, body, limbs, health, character and nature of the native. It specifically signifies the face and the head.
2nd Dhana Bhava Jupiter This house is also called ‘Dhana stana’ (wealth) house (stana means position) and deals with money matters, one’s deposits, income tax, customs, computers. It represents one’s family, early life, wealth, items relating to mouth and face, speech, food habits, vision in general and right eye in particular.
3rd Bratru Bhava Mars Called ‘Bratru’ (brother) house, this is the house of brothers and sisters (siblings), signifies success through own efforts, courage, bravery, adventures, initiative, motivation, fine arts (singing, dancing, directors), voice, matters relating to communication such as writing, shoulders, arms, neck, throat, right ear, hands, boldness and short journeys. One is made singer by this house only.
4th Shukha Bhava Moon, Venus It is also called ‘Matru’ (mother) Bhava. Shukha means comforts. 4th house represents mother, motherland, home life, fixed assets (such as land and property), conveyances (such as cars), general happiness, comforts, primary education, endings, passions, emotions, matters of the heart, mental peace, house and real estate. It represents chest, particularly lungs.
5th Putra Bhava Jupiter This house is called as ‘Putra’ (children) Bhava’ and represents children, intelligence, higher knowledge, sense of destiny (poorvapunya), morals, pleasure, generosity, love affairs, investments and speculations. It indicates stomach and gives professions of teacher, principal and gynaecologist, right knee or leg.
6th Satru Bhava Mars, Saturn This house is called ‘Satru’ (enemies) Bhava, that is house of enemies. It denotes challenges from competitors or enemies, disease, medical or healing profession, debts, subordinates such as workers, service oriented jobs, food, restaurants, police, military. It governs digestive system, quarrels court and jobs done by hand, like typing.
7th Kalatra Bhava Jupiter (Women),
Venus (Men)
Also called ‘Kalatra Bhava’, it represents spouse, business partner, marriage, partners, sexual passions, courts, residence in foreign lands, desire, business or employment in a private firm. It governs sexual organs and diseases thereof.
8th Ayur Bhava Saturn Ayur means lifespan. Also known as ‘Ayu sthana’ it represents life force, longevity, spiritual practices, intuition, psychic abilities, gains from wills, legacies, deeds, court cases and insurance policies, chronic and long-term sickness, monetary gains from partner, secrets, diseases related to reproductive system, anus, misfortunes, accidents, injuries, death, underground wealth, historical things and monuments, parental property and mining.
9th Bhagya Bhava Jupiter Called house of luck (fortune) and religion, it represents father or preceptor, virtuous nature, faith, morals, law, long journeys, higher knowledge, medicine, pilgrimage, higher studies like doctorate, long journeys, languages like Sanskrit, Roman and Hebrew. It also indicates grandparents, grandchildren and mental aptitude towards Yoga and sadhana. It represents hips.
10th Karma Bhava Sun, Mercury, Saturn This house is called ‘Karma sthana’ and represents the acts one does. It signifies profession, or whatever we do or career, respectability, fame, honors, activities that benefit society, authority, government work, father, politics, leadership and management. It governs knees and Back.
11th Laba Bhava Jupiter 11th house is house of gains/profits or ‘Labha’ and represents sources of income, elder brothers and sisters, friend’s circle and legs. Gains through profession, ambitions, desires, support from friends, eldest brother, paternal uncle.
12th Vyaya Bhava Saturn The house of loss and expenses is called ‘Vyaya sthana’ and covers bad habits, confinement (such as prison), hospital, monastic life, misfortunes, long journeys, secret enemies, connections with foreign countries, quests, and bed pleasure — comforts of the bed. It also indicates export and import, also feet. Keeping away from home base or travel. Self-realization and spiritual liberation.

The 12 Houses (Bhavas) and Their Meanings

Hand Reading by Chris: Analysis of the Hand, Fingers, Mounts, Lines & more!
Please consider a Donation. Every little bit helps!
Content Protected by Copyright Laws!
Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: